[GUEST POST] How To Motivate Yourself To Write | Being A Young Writer #2

Hey guys, I’m Michelle and I blog at The Writing Hufflepuff Today I’m here to talk to you guys about motivation. Sometimes it’s hard to find motivation to write, even though we love to do it. So how do you find the motivation to finally start writing?

Just do it

Michelle

Of course that’s easier said than done, because often even though we open our notebook or Word document, we’ll still stare at the empty page or even at our already written words and just close it again because ‘nope, not feeling it today’. I’d still advise you to try. I’ve found that sometimes it does really help to just do it. I wake up, thinking that I’m not going to write anything that day because I’m tired and without any inspiration. Then I open my document and all of a sudden I’ve written 2000 words. But like I said, it’s easier said than done.

So how do you find motivation?

First try to reread the last few paragraphs that you’ve written. That will bring you back into the world you’ve created and inside the character’s’ head. You’ll remember where you were going with this and you might get super excited to continue. If that doesn’t work, just leave the scene for what it is. Write a later scene that you’re excited about. Or maybe you’re stuck because you haven’t really figured out yet where you were going with the story in the first place. Maybe take a look at your outline; try to figure out your characters, their background stories and motivations a bit more; maybe write a short story about your world or the characters to get back in the game. Go on Pinterest (unless you’re prone to fall into the Pinterest hole and never return. Then I advise you to stay away as far as possible) to find inspiration or even motivation. What always pumps me up is reading about other people writing. If they’re writing, I want to write, which may sound crazy, but it’s true.

If you’re not currently writing something, and your problem is that you don’t know how to start, then don’t start at the beginning. Start in the middle, or at the end, or somewhere inbetween. Write a scene you’re really excited about or a piece of dialogue. Or just write the beginning and just continue. Don’t worry that it’s not perfect. It’s your first draft, of course it’s not perfect. You have plenty of time to rewrite and edit it later, but you’ll have to write it first.

What if I still can’t find any motivation?

Then that’s okay! Just give it a break. Eat some good food. Go for a walk. Play with your pet. Go out with friends. Watch some tv or a movie. Do whatever you’re in the mood for and I’m sure you’ll get back to writing eventually. There was a time where I barely ever wrote, because I just wasn’t feeling it. I was so busy with school and thus so exhausted, that I couldn’t make myself write. And now? Now I’m pumped up and ready to write all the words. So if you really can’t motivate yourself, don’t feel too bad about it. Think about why you don’t want to or can’t write. Maybe you’re just really tired and need to relax a bit. Maybe you’re just not as excited about the story as you used to be. Maybe you still need to plan some more before you can actually write. Or maybe you’re just not in the mood and you want to do other stuff. Just because you’re not writing right now, doesn’t mean you’re a bad writer. You can do this, okay? Write whenever you want and can. We’re all young writers here, and sometimes it’s hard to combine school, writing and all the other stuff you’ve got going on. School can wear you out to the point you don’t want to write (like I said I’ve been there) and that’s okay. And if anyone tells you it isn’t, you grab your wand and tell them to get out (my blog is called The Writing Hufflepuff, so obviously there’s going to be a Harry Potter reference).

Thank you Daniel for having me on your blog! 🙂
You can find me on Twitter, Instagram, Goodreads, Tumblr, Pinterest, WeHeartIt and of course on my own blog

Leave a Reply

