Review of ‘Lady Midnight’ by Cassandra Clare

Lady MidnightTitle: Lady Midnight

Author: Cassandra Clare

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s Books

Publication Date: March 8, 2016

Genre: Fantasy

Pages: 720

Blurb via Amazon: The Shadowhunters of Los Angeles star in the first novel in Cassandra Clare’s newest series, The Dark Artifices, a sequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series. Lady Midnight is a Shadowhunters novel.

It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses.

Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didn’t lead her in treacherous directions…

Making things even more complicated, Julian’s brother Mark-who was captured by the faeries five years ago-has been returned as a bargaining chip. The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kind-and they need the Shadowhunters’ help to do it. But time works differently in faerie, so Mark has barely aged and doesn’t recognize his family. Can he ever truly return to them? Will the faeries really allow it?
Glitz, glamours, and Shadowhunters abound in this heartrending opening to Cassandra Clare’s Dark Artifices series.


Lady Midnight‘ by Cassandra Clare is the tenth Shadowhunters novel and the first book in her new ‘The Dark Artifices‘ series. We follow Emma Carstairs and the Blackthorn family at the Los Angeles Institute, five years after the Dark War. Her and Julian have become parabatia, the highest possible bond in the world of Nephilim and they are forbidden to fall in love, for unknown reasons. We join Emma as she tries to solve her parents murders.

First of all, as ever, the characters in this book are absolutely amazing. They all have such potent personalities and I love to see how they work (or don’t work) with each other. We had already met Emma and Julian in ‘City of Heavenly Fire’, the final book in ‘The Mortal Instruments‘ series. Although we had already met the Blackthorn children, we were not really given much insight into their personalities. However, that being said I’m glad that we have been, because I love all of them so much.

I must admit though that I did not like Julian at all for the first half of the book. It took me a while to warm up to him, but eventually I warmed up to him, mainly because I realised how cut up and damaged he was and I took pity on his poor, brave soul. He has to be praised for his resilience at I think that was definitely a factor in me growing to  love him as much as I did the others.

Once again in a Cassandra Clare book, my favourite character in the book was not the main character. Although, both of my new favourites did get P.O.V scenes multiple times in the book. Yes, my favourites are Mark Blackthorn, returning after five years from The Wild Hunt and Cristina Rosales, on a travel year from Mexico and running from her past. Mark, although he is the oldest is my little baby. I just want to hug him because he is so ruined by what he has been through. I think everyone in this book is ruined actually, either because of love or loss or both and it is this that seems to bring them together. Cristina Rosales should be given a medal. I mean, she already has a medallion around her neck, but she deserves a medal for sorting out problems. Every issue, minor ones at least, that comes up for anyone in the book, Cristina solves. She is such a sweetheart, but also a badass.

This book is absolutely enormous and although I preordered it from Waterstones, I didn’t finish it for almost four months. Why? Well it was mainly because I had exams to revise for, but also because I am always slow to read Cassandra Clare books, never wanting them to end. But now it is over I have the agonising wait until next May! It’s going to be painful, but worth it as ever.

The plot of this book, as always is absolutely beautiful, little bits here and there weaving in to make a beautiful story that I would read again (if I had the time!) There are lots of suggestive bits to the previous two series and I would say that it is vital to read them first without being spoiled for them and to gain the full effect within the story. This book is more of a mystery mixed in with all the romance, which I found was a nice blend. We are also given a more detailed view into the politics of both the Shadowhunters and the Faerie courts, which I thought was very interesting indeed.

Lastly, I would like to tip my hat to Cassandra Clare for consistently maintaining a high level of representation for different groups and minorities in all of her books. For example, we have another LGBT+ romance in this book, potential, definitely hinted, autism and also representation of ethnicity. It’s not that other YA books are not this representative of these things, but Clare is very good at not focusing too much on them to the point where she is just showing these minorities for the sake of it.

Lady Midnight‘ by Cassandra Clare is a heart-wrenching, heart-breaking and heart-pumping tale that enthrals you in her beautiful, fantastical world and leaves you begging for more. I highly recommend, but you should probably read the other books preceding this first.

stars

Buy the book: Waterstones | Amazon

❤ DW

Leave a Reply

