Finding Your Writing Style | Being A Young Writer #1

Hi guys! I’ve wanted to do something like this for a while and with Camp NaNoWriMo coming around very soon, I thought this was especially relevant. This is going ti be a series, but I don’t know how long it will be and there may even be some guest posts featured as part of it!

I myself am a young writer and have been wanting to write a novel for a long time now. I wanted it to be a YA novel, but I had never really set myself a preference on what genre I wanted to right in. I’ve tried sci-fi, contemporary, paranormal (multiple times) and most recently I am working on a high fantasy project.

Genre is a massive part of finding your writing style, because authors who write contemporary novels have very different styles to authors who write in the fantasy genres. Contemporary tends to focus so much more on emotion and bringing mundane things to life in a beautiful way. However, there are certainly similarities in that both writing styles can be rather poetic in how they flow and are read.

In this post I will be addressing the following things:

  1. What is writing style?
  2. How do you find your style?
  3. Can you change your style?
  4. Is it okay to imitate the styles of other authors?

What Is Writing Style?

tell me

Writing style is the way that you write. That may be a stupid thing to say, but that really just all it is in the most holistic sense. Writing style is all of the things you do when writing. Every last detail. Do you use short sentences more than long or vice versa? Do you have the perfect balance? Do you write with a sarcastic, blunt undertone or is your writing flowing and poetic? Ask yourself these questions and look back at you writing and you should be able to notice these things that before now may have seemed irrelevant and unnoticeable.

How Do You Find Your Writing Style?

searching

Finding your writing style is never easy. I don’t think I’ve even found my own yet if I’m perfectly honest. My advice though would have to be write as much as you can about anything and everything. If you practise and practise writing at every spare moment you have you will start to develop your writing style naturally. Another huge tip is don’t strive to be perfect, because you will never reach that level and it will just cause frustration. Your writing style will be imperfect and that’s part of the beauty of it, so don’t feel discouraged if it has flaws.

perfect

Can You Change Your Style?

changeI guess my question for you here, if you feel this way, is why would you want to change your writing style? It is yours and something that makes you an individual and sets you apart from others. From my personal experience it is impossible or at least very hard to change your style. If you don’t like how you’re writing right now don’t force yourself out of it, instead go with it, because in all likelihood it will develop into something that you love. Also, if you read your writing and hate it, it could just be because you are writing in the wrong genre; try all genres in some part, just to see if your writing fits in well with it.

Is It Okay To Imitate The Styles Of Other Authors?

imitationIn my opinion you should never try to imitate the writing style of someone else and I think it’s something that is very hard to do. This is because your writing style is something so personal to you, like your fingerprint in words. Unless all you ever read is the same author over and over again I genuinely think you would struggle to imitate them accurately or successfully without you putting your own spin on it. Of course it is okay for you to admire the works of other authors and their writing, but forcing yourself to write like them will warrant little success.

As ever, thanks for reading guys! I hope you enjoyed this post and as I said, this is going to be a weekly series and you may see some guest blogger posts very soon. I would love for you to comment if you agree or disagree with anything I have said here and please comment on what else you would like me to cover, because there is so much to cover!

Like! Comment! 

Follow Me On Social Media: Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

❤ DW

 

 

2 thoughts on “Finding Your Writing Style | Being A Young Writer #1

Leave a Reply

