The Birthstone Book Tag

I haven’t done a book tag in ages and ages, so while I trawl my way through the last half of ‘Lady Midnight’, I thought I would feel the void on my blog with a nice book tag. I saw this one and thought it was unusual, but sounded fun.


GARNET (January) – Wards off negative energies: The darkest/ most evil book character:

carryon

It would have been impossible for me to not mention this book during this book tag, or any book tag for that matter! ‘Carry On’ by Rainbow Rowell is one of my favourite books of all time. It is seriously that good and it contains the Insidious Humdrum, a character that is just made up of darkness and evil. It would have been awful for me to not put it on the list.

AMETHYST (February) – Associated with royalty: Most regal book:

thorns

‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ by Sarah J. Maas, as well as being a brilliant book by one of my favourite authors, is very regal indeed. We get a great insight into folklore and the Seelie/Unseelie court system in the Faerie world. This was something I first got a taste of in ‘The Mortal Instruments’ by Cassandra Clare. The whole courtly atmosphere in this book is definitely a reason why I love it so much and is a must read if you’re into things like this. Also, there will probably be quite a few books by Sarah on this list, but oh well!

AQUAMARINE (March) – Weakness: Name a weak character:

newmoon

Okay Twi-hards. Before I get into this pick, I just want to say that I like the movies and the first two books, but let’s face it; Bella Swan is a weakling. She barely survives in every book and she is so whiny. I’m not trying to offend, just trying to make you realise the truth. Nonetheless, I am glad what the saga did for YA. Thanks Stephenie!

DIAMOND (April) – A diamond in the rough: A relatively unknown book you loved:

queste

‘The Septimus Heap’ series by Angie Sage is a Middle-Grade fantasy series. I don’t think it’s that well-known, but I’m not sure. I just haven’t seen a lot of buzz for it anywhere. However, this was something that kept me reading for all these years and contains some of the best plot twists, magic systems and quirky characters I have read.

EMERALD (May) – Balancing energies: Two characters who balance each other:

throneofglass

The ‘Throne of Glass’ is Sarah J. Maas’ other fantasy series. It is also brilliant, just like the other one. In the third book of the series, ‘Heir of Fire’ we meet Rowan Whitethorn and in my opinion he helps to balance Celaena Sardothien perfectly. She had control over the element of fire, hence the title and he has control over wind. I think that this speaks for itself; when Celaena gets hot-headed, he is there to put out the blaze. I also think that she helps to balance him too, just in a more subtle way.

PEARL (June) – Loyalty: A character loyal to the end:

Hungergames

The most loyal character I have ever read has to be Gale Hawthorne from the ‘The Hunger Games’ series by Suzanne Collins. He sticks by Katniss and her rebellion the whole way through, mainly because he is infatuated by her, but I think his loyalty is commendable throughout the entire course of the series, even if he is overlooked in the first book.

RUBY (July) – Blood red: A book that made your blood boil:

only ever yours

‘Only Ever Yours’ by Louise O’Neill is a brilliant dystopian book that will make you think, change your life and it definitely angered me relentlessly, even long after I had finished book. Enough said, I think.

PERIDOT (August) – Pale green: A supporting character you like more than the main character:

cityofbones

‘The Mortal Instruments’ series by Cassandra Clare will forever be one of my favourites, but the truth is the main character, Clary Fray/Fairchild/Valentine(…) was never my favourite. That’s right, my favourite from the start was Isabelle Lightwood. She’s just so sassy and gives life to the phrase ‘not just a pretty face’.

SAPPHIRE (September) – Calming ocean blue: A book which makes you feel calm:

perks

Even though the characters and events in ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’ by Stephen Chbosky are hectic, the book still has a calming effect on me. I think this is mainly because I can sort of relate with Charlie and it’s also quite a quick read, which I finished within a day the first time round.

OPAL (October) – Iridescence: A book with a beautiful cover: 

inkandbone

‘Ink and Bone’ by Rachel Caine is a fantastic book, which I thought was very unique in both its style and concepts. I also think that both versions of its cover that I have seen are beautiful and enticing. I can’t wait for book two in ‘The Great Library’ series, ‘Paper and Fire’.

TOPAZ (November) – Resilience: A character that rose to the top against the odds:

Cleo

The title character in Lucy Coats’ ‘Cleo’ has to be praised on her resilience. I guess that’s what you have to be when you have the weight of an empire on your shoulders and you’re the chosen one.

BLUE ZIRCON (December) – Friendship: A book with you favourite friendship:

queenofshadows

Yes, lastly, we have another Sarah J. Maas book! Who would’ve guessed it?! This book has the best friendships. I mean, for this I could pick Celaena and Dorian, Celaena and Rowan, Celaena and Chaol. Man, I wish Celaena was my friend…


Thank you for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it. I’m not going to tag anyone specifically, but if you decide to do this tag based on this post, don’t forget to link back to it. Much love, friends!

❤ DW

Leave a Reply

