The EU Referendum: What Now?

This is a blog for something that I am very passionate about; books. Normally they are all I talk about on here, but as a British national and citizen I feel very passionately about this too.

After  all the build up to this historic referendum and seeing so much of the ‘Vote Remain’ on my social media, I was genuinely surprised to wake up and find this. Britain has decided to leave the EU and for that I am happy, for the most part, but like everyone, the uncertainty scares me. I am watching the news showing the graphs of the value of the pound dropping down and down. We are no longer at this time, the 5th largest economy in the world, having been taken over by France. And to top it all of, Donald Trump has backed our decision, which is hardly what I would like to see.

Yes, you may be scared, I am too, but you have to remember that this will all stabilise. Right now, some of the television channels are definitely scaremongering, showing us the value drop for the pound, but completely ignoring the fact that it has already begun to stabilise. The banks have liquid funds people; they can give you loans still, you won’t lose your savings. It will all be okay in the end!

Yes I am only sixteen years old and some may say I am uneducated about this, but this is my opinion. I respect the opinion of those who wanted to remain, even when my friends who wanted to stay spoke out about how I was wrong, I refused to do the same to them. I calmly gave them my reasoning, while they rolled their eyes and were at times rather rude. If I had woken up today to see that we had remained in the EU, which I was expecting to be honest, I would not have moaned or whined. I would have taken it and dealt with it, because you can’t change what has happened. That is the same for this outcome; you can’t change it, so moan all you want, but you can’t do that forever.

Times may be bad for a few days, weeks, months or even years, but eventually you will have to stop blaming the politicians, because the majority of Britain voted for this. Now there is mass fallout and we are struggling to cope. Disputes over Gibralta, Nicola Sturgeon calling for another referendum for an independent Scotland and David Cameron stepping down as Prime Minister. This is messy and I knew it would be if we left, but now we have to persevere. Right now we are split almost 50/50 as a people, but we need to come together to get back to normal, become stable and then people will start to see the benefits of this, I think.

Although I backed the leave campaign, even though I was unable to vote, this referendum was not something that I wanted. In my opinion, it was never something that should have been necessary. What should have happened was some kind of EU reform as a compromise. Instead of coming back to Britain from Brussels with news of reform and compromise, David Cameron returned with no sign of great change for Britain as part of the EU. So, this whole situation could have been avoided if we had just united and fought harder for reform.

I was absolutely shocked and appalled by who the Vote Remain campaign pulled out of the bag. Tony Blair, butcher of millions, someone who led us into a war through scaremongering, was on my TV urging us to remain, back to his scaremongering ways. And then I was sickened by the almost criminalisation of Nigel Farage and to see Bob Geldof harassing him on the Thames. Since when did politics become a place for petty digs and jabs meant for a primary school playground?

As someone who is under 18, I would have loved to be able to vote in this and I do genuinely think that the result may have been different if people my age had the chance. But the point is the sixteen and seventeen year olds of Britain did not get to have their say, which is sad, but how it has always been.

Britain is a mess right now. In fact, I would say it was in turmoil, but Britain will not burn down, it will not crumble into the ocean. We will persevere, we will stabilise and I hope that in the future we can all come together to make this work and become a stronger nation for it.

3 thoughts on “The EU Referendum: What Now?

  1. You’re 16, you’re very young, and I understand and respect your position. I’m not from the UK, but I am from the EU, and what scares me is that most people who voted to leave, did so misinformed and scared and with things in mind such as the immigration problem and the amount of money given to the EU, which are not really factual. This will also cause problems for everyone. The UK will now see Scotland and Ireland wanting to leave, and Europe will see the rise of other parties wanting to leave as well, parties who are against immigration and have xenophobic and sexist stands.
    So, while the EU is not at all perfect, this will set Europe back years! And the consequences will be bad for everyone.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

