Review of ‘ The Witch Hunter’ by Virginia Boecker | Fresh Friday #4

freshfridays

Fresh Friday is a weekly meme in which I review or discuss an upcoming release, new release or book published in the last six months. Please feel free to do this meme on your own blog, it would be nice to see it get around. Obviously, it’s not compulsory or anything.


witchhunter

Title: Witch Hunter

Author: Virginia Boecker

Publisher: Orchard Books

Publication Date: 4 June, 2015

Pages: 416

Blurb via Goodreads:

Elizabeth Grey is one of the king’s best witch hunters, devoted to rooting out witchcraft and doling out justice. But when she’s accused of being a witch herself, Elizabeth is arrested and sentenced to burn at the stake.

Salvation comes from a man she thought was her enemy. Nicholas Perevil, the most powerful and dangerous wizard in the kingdom, offers her a deal: he will save her from execution if she can break the deadly curse that’s been laid upon him.

But Nicholas and his followers know nothing of Elizabeth’s witch hunting past–if they find out, the stake will be the least of her worries. And as she’s thrust into the magical world of witches, ghosts, pirates, and one all-too-handsome healer, Elizabeth is forced to redefine her ideas of right and wrong, of friends and enemies, and of love and hate.


This book was a tantalising read for my love of fantasy. It was perfectly pitched and, although at times certain characters got on my nerves (CALEB)I did not want to stop reading at any point in the story. The flow was brilliant, wrapping the plot and setting around you like a blanket, sending you into 1558, England. Although a light, but action-packed read, scenes in this book still managed to take my breathe away with emotion or action.

I have never really read a book that was set in this era, or at least not one that was memorable to me. This book certainly was. Normally in books, I find the protagonist’s best friend more interesting than them, but Elizabeth Grey was the best! Not only was she kick-ass, but she was vulnerable at the same time. I loved that she had these contrasting layers to her. I started reading this book like, “Elizabeth is going to have magical powers. How predictable.” I kept waiting fro her powers to be unleashed, but it didn’t happen. Thumbs up Virginia, for not being predictable!  However, I kind of hope she does have magic in The King Slayer.

Also, the prophecy in this book is great. I love a prophecy, almost as much as I like magic itself. The psychic aspects in this book were really well woven into this book and made the story whole. At times it felt as if I was reading a middle grade book, but then someone would swear and I remembered it was YA. There was a lot of fantasy and magical terminology in this book, something that I enjoy, because it builds the world more. However, I feel as if the terminology would confuse some people and that I only knew it from reading every YA fantasy ever… (It is basically all I read. #ReadMoreContemporary)

I award 4/5 stars to The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker. This is her debut novel and the sequel will be released next year. Excited much!

Leave a Reply

