Review of ‘Cinder’ by Marissa Meyer

cinder

Title: Cinder

Author: Marissa Meyer

Publisher: Puffin

Publication Date: 5 January, 2012

Pages: 400

Blurb via Amazon:

A forbidden romance.

A deadly plague.

Earth’s fate hinges on one girl . . .

CINDER, a gifted mechanic in New Beijing, is also a cyborg. She’s reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s sudden illness. But when her life becomes entwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she finds herself at the centre of a violent struggle between the desires of an evil queen – and a dangerous temptation.

Cinder is caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal. Now she must uncover secrets about her mysterious past in order to protect Earth’s future.

This is not the fairytale you remember. But it’s one you won’t forget.


 Okay, so I don’t know if ya’ll have noticed, but I have been reading a LOT of sci-fi lately… I literally have read Cinder, The 5th Wave and Obsidian. Also, next in my TBR is Scarlet, Onyx, Cress, Opal, The Infinite Sea, The Poison Study and Half Blood. I’m also going through a Jennifer L. Armentrout hit…

BUT, that is not why we are all here today. You want to hear my opinions on Cinder by Marissa Meyer. My opinion is that it is a fantastic story and I want to read on. Now. But I can’t because my library card is full right now…’

Cinder is a futuristic take on fairytales. Yes, I know that fairytale retellings have been done by every fantasy author ever. But have you ever read a sci-fi take on Cinderella? I doubt it! Well, that is what it is and this is literally my favourite retelling ever! Don’t care what anyone else thinks, but this is amazing. I have been wanting to red this book for years, but I am poor and only just realised you can order books into your local library branch. AMAZING! And now I have the other two behind the desk.

The thing I liked most about this book is that you really get involved in the world quickly. And I wasn’t expecting the element of the plague, because it is in the future and that seemed kind of medieval to me. So, it took me by surprise, but I loved it,because it added emotional depth to the story, for reasons I won’t tell you guys. I mean, it’s not like I’m not the last person to read this book…

What I didn’t like about this book was how predictable it was for me. She was like “Oh, there are evil Lunars on the moon” and I’m all like “They’re going to be an issue…”. Then Princess Selene. I SAW IT COMING!! These are the perils of reading a lot. You always see it coming!

4/5 for Cinder! So excited to continue this series and catch up before Winter!!

❤ DW

14 thoughts on “Review of ‘Cinder’ by Marissa Meyer

  1. YES! I loved Cinder so much! Baha, the plot twist was predictable though. BUT IT WAS SO MUCH FUN ANYWAY! I really hope you like Scarlet, Cress and Fairest! WINTER IS COMING OUT SO SOON. *dies*

    Like

  2. I’m reading this currently (I am definitely the last person to read it!). I also guessed Princess Selene from the start but I don’t mind as it is still good. I didn’t think I would like it but I have found myself so absorbed in it! I did do one bad thing though because I am awful.. I really wanted to know what happened between Kai and Cinder so I skim read the back, although I am only like four chapters from the end. I just couldn’t help myself! Now I’m too sad to carry on reading for the moment because that ending though!!!!

    Like

      1. I’m definitely not going to be doing any sneak peaks of the back during Scarlet. I’m still mad at myself haha! I have heard a few people say Scarlet is good 🙂 Cress seems interesting as it’s about the girl who hacks all the royal computer systems, etc in Cinder. Are you reading the novellas as well or just the series?

        Like

      2. I don’t know whether to read the novellas where they fit between the books. I’m intruged to read Fairest because Lavana is a raging bitch and I want to know why. Oo the graphic novels should be awesome!

        Like

Leave a Reply

