Review of ‘The 5th Wave’ by Rick Yancey

5wave

Title: The 5th Wave

Author: Rick Yancey

Publisher:

Publication Date: May 7, 2013

Pages: 497

Blurb via Goodreads:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scatter…more

So, if you read my book quite regularly, you may know that I am trying to read a lot more of the science fiction genre within YA. See… My Top Ten Science Fiction Books I Want To Read. Since I posted that Top Ten, I have ticked off three books! The 5th Wave (obviously), Obsidian (review coming soon) and Cinder (review on Wednesday!).
So, there has been a lot of hype around this book and also a lot of mixed feelings towards it. I found myself being one of the few who has not read this book yet! But you know what? I sure did love it. I love it to bits.
Yes, I was reluctant when I started (the reason it took me so long to finish it… one week!), mainly because it was science fiction and I was reluctant to get into the genre at all. It started out with a lot of world building and this kind of put me off too. The moment I really got into this was when it switched point of views from Cassie to Zombie (no spoilers here 🙂 )
I really liked the use of multiple POV and even did not mind the sporadic ‘parts’ or ‘segments’. And can we just talk about Evan Walker. Evan Walker is so damn sweet and I don’t even care about the whole problem of major trust issues. I genuinely think that he is my favourite character. However, I have my issues with the fact that Rick Yancey has totally set up a love triangle in The Infinite Sea. Don’t even get me started on love triangles. Pah! They don’t even happen in real life and they make the story feel fake. STOP DOING IT WRITERS!
Anyway, back to the book… I am now really excited to read the next book in the series (despite the potential love triangle…), because this book had one of the best endings I have ever read. Before I read this book, I saw lots of negative comments amongst the majority of positive comments. My reaction to these, as always, are that everyone is entitled to their opinions, if they say it’s terrible they’re neither right or wrong, blah blah blah… But after reading this book and looking back at negative comments I was like “wrong, go away stupid, oh my god shut up, irrelevant, you clearly didn’t read the same book as me…” Basically, I refuse to take on board any negative comments or ideas about this book. The end. I am now an official science fiction fan and plan to cross off the rest of that top ten list.
5/5 stars
Buy This Book:
❤ DW
Leave a Reply

