Review of ‘Am I Normal Yet?’ by Holly Bourne | Fresh Friday #2

freshfridays

Hello and welcome to the second Fresh Friday on my blog. Fresh Friday is a weekly meme in which I review or discuss an upcoming release, new release or book published in the last six months. Please feel free to do this meme on your own blog, it would be nice to see it get around. Obviously, it’s not compulsory or anything.


aminormalyet

Title: Am I Normal Yet?

Author: Holly Bourne

Publisher: Usborne

Publication Date: 1 August, 2015

Pages: 448

Blurb via Goodreads:

All Evie wants is to be normal. She’s almost off her meds and at a new college where no one knows her as the girl-who-went-crazy. She’s even going to parties and making friends. There’s only one thing left to tick off her list…

But relationships are messy – especially relationships with teenage guys. They can make any girl feel like they’re going mad. And if Evie can’t even …more


So, I just wanted to start out by saying that Holly Bourne is my favourite UKYA author and I have just realised that I have read all of her books (this book, plus Soulmates and The Manifesto on How To Be Interesting). If you haven’t read all of her books then you definitely should. And if you haven’t yet read any of Holly’s books, what the frickle-frack are you doing?!

This book has three major elements. Romance, mental health and feminism. For this review I am going to go through each of these individually.

The romance in this book is hectic, but not at all because of Bourne’s writing style or anything like that. The story itself was perfect and flawless and so, so good. Throughout the novel, Evie encounters a total of three love interests. I personally felt as if the romance was really well written and realistic in how hectic it was. Not that I would know…

The representation of mental health and illness in this book is very well portrayed and, having a mother with mental health and personal experience, felt it to be accurate. I felt very frustrated and could actually feel Evie’s frustration through the words. But I knew for a fact that frustration was a huge part of it, and (Evie would roll her eyes) part of the recovery process.

Lastly, feminism. Being a minor feminist for myself I loved this aspect of the book, because it collided with the romance in the book. Amber was actually my favourite character. There is a bit in the book when she throws a bowl at her brother’s face, because he basically calls feminists lesbians. This is literally what I want to do to every bigot every day of my life. But I would probably use a brick instead.

This book is an intricately and accurately detailed story of mental illness, being a woman and the general fascism of society. I literally sound like Amber… 5 out of 5 stars for ‘Am I Normal Yet?’ by Holly Bourne.


Buy This Book:

Waterstones

❤ DW

One thought on “Review of ‘Am I Normal Yet?’ by Holly Bourne | Fresh Friday #2

  1. Pingback: Feminism in Young Adult Fiction – How To Read Books

Leave a Reply

