Dystopia Mania! – Theme Thursday #2

themethursday

Yes, this week’s #ThemeThursday on How To Read Books is all about the Dystopian genre within YA. I don’t know if you guys have noticed this, but it is taking both the book and movie world by storm. So, I hhope you enjoy this Theme Thursday and that you are enjoying the New Post Schedule all together. Don’t forget Fresh Friday tomorrow!

Things being discussed in this post:

  • Why I think dystopia is so popular.
  • Dystopian series I will not be finishing and why.
  • Dystopian series I am reading.
  • Dystopian books I want to read.
  • The Utopian Dystopian…
  • Next week’s theme is revealed. (YAY!)

The reason that I think the Dystopian genre is so popular is that it isn’t true, but not entirely impossible. I think that this scares people and for some reason, they like it. They feel enticed into reading about a dystopian society, because it could be theirs in the future and this intrigues them. I believe it is as simple as that.


Dystopian Series I Will Not Be Finishing:

The Hunger Games:

mockingjay

I actually really enjoyed this series. Well, the first two books anyway… I only read half of Mockingjay, for two reasons. Firstly, I was spoiled for the ending of the book and this really put me off of reading it, so I didn’t in the end. Also, Katniss Everdeen was this powerful character for the first two books. I love a kickass heroine, but then in the third book, she was SO WEAK! It was awful for me to read.

Divergent:

divergent

I loved Divergent so much, because it was a fresh premise and was really, really  interesting. I liked Tris and Four and also the ending and plot twists. Then, there was Insurgent. I got one hundred pages in, maybe less, and gave up. The writing was awful and slow and ugh! I can’t even… I actually have friends who read on, just because of Uriah… Disappointing.


Dystopian Series I Am Reading:

Delirium:

delirium

I have read the first in this series and I really liked it. Although, I have heard bad things about the ending of the third book.


Dystopian Books I Want To Read:

The Great Library:

inkandbone


uglies

The Uglies series is what I consider to be the ‘Utopian Dystopian’. This is because it starts out with the world looking perfect, but then boom! Conspiracy! I like this, but it can be a bit predictable. Delirium is also an example of this, I guess…


Next Week’s Theme Is…

Historical Fiction! *cheers!*

Featuring…

  • Outlander
  • The Diviners
  • My Favourite Historical Figures and Time Periods
Leave a Reply

