Zombies (Theme Thursday #1)

themethursday

zombieg

Oh, the humble zombie. The ever present, flesh-eating creature that haunts the nightmares of children and adult alike. Yes, for the very first #ThemeThursday, we will be talking about books that contain zombies. In this post I will be discussing my love for Charlie Higson’s The Enemy series, zombie series I will be reading in the future and the pros and cons of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.


theenemy

The Enemy series by Charlie Higson is a modern zombie masterpiece in the YA genre. But this is not any zombie book, oh no, for behind it is a huge conspiracy. A conspiracy which I will not be telling you about, because, well, SPOILERS… It is set in London after the adults and older teens have been taken ill by a strange virus. The ones that don’t die become decaying cannibalistic creatures, who roam the streets looking for child flesh. What I like the most about this is that is the usual zombie apocalypse story with an added Lord of the Flies element. I highly recommend this book to everyone, even if you don’t normally like gore or horror, it has great character building elements too.


alice in zombieland

The Alice in Zombieland series by Gena Showalter is a series that I am determined to pick up relatively soon. I really am aiming to read a lot more horror novels in the future.

onceuponthezombie

I received a copy of Once Upon A Zombie by Billy Phillips via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I promise I didn’t purposely choose these two books because of their relation to Alice in Wonderland. It is just a happy coincidence.


priprezom

Due to the copyright running out on Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, we were graced with the edited parody by Seth Grahame Smith, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. I am going to say two things on this book, apart from that I would rather read the parody than the actual thing. I think that this book is a good thing, because it is bringing a well known classic into the 21st Century. I think that this book could be considered a bad thing (certainly not by me), because it is sort of defacing that well known classic. I can see how that would upset a few people.


So that is it for the first #ThemeThursday on zombies. I hope you enjoyed it and I look forward to reading more zombie themed books in the future.

|Follow This Blog | Follow My Twitter| Like This Post| Comment On This Post|

Leave a Reply

