Review of ‘Legend’ by Marie Lu

legend

Title: Legend

Author: Marie Lu

Published: November 29, 2011

Publisher: G. P. Putnam’s Sons, Penguin Books

Genre: YA, Dystopian

Pages: 295

Blurb via Goodreads:

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Now, I was told by a friend that this book was one of the best YA dystopian novels out there. I wasn’t doubtful, due to the fact that I had heard a lot about this book before it was lent to me. Then, when I found out it was loosely based on Les Miserables, I was even more intrigued. I picked it up, began to read and for some reason got distracted. But for Booktube-A-Thon 2015 I added it into my TBR, forcing myself to read it. I did not regret it one bit.

Firstly, the world building in this book is flawless and inticately woven.Not only that, but it isn’t even unrealistic; I could easilly see it happening in the future. I also like the idea of rebellion in dystopian books and this had plenty of it.

The romance aspects in this book are also really good. I didn’t find myself cringing at the chessiness of it, as I often do. It was beautiful, in a way, and I felt really connected to the relationship of the characters. I also like the idea of Day, because he is this badass rogue, defying the tyrannical government, but really he is just a teenage boy. He just wants to look after her family. And June! I love a genius female character in the book, and she is definitely now one of my favourites. I can’t even!

Another thing I liked about this book is the whole murder mystery part. Marie Lu leaves clues hidden in the plot and this turns it into an adventure of sorts, something I love in a book and don’t see enough of anymore.

I cannot praise this book enough and will definitely be doing another review for Prodigy in the future (when I can get my grubby mits on it). I would definitely recommend this book to fans of dystopia, because it is genuinely one of, if not the best book of the genre that I have read. So, I happily, with no regret whatsoever, award Legend by Marie Lu, 5/5 stars!

Buy This Book:

https://www.waterstones.com/book/legend/marie-lu/9780141339412

-DW

Leave a Reply

