Review of ‘Beautiful Creatures’ by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl (Magical Monday #1)

magicalmondays

beautiful creatures

Title: ‘Beautiful Creatures’

Authors: Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Published: December 1st, 2009

Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Pages: 563

Now, I have had a lot of mixed opinions about this series. Some people say they love it, some people despise it with the very fibre of their souls. I, like it or not, am officially a fan of the Beautiful Creatures series. Whether or not I will end up hating this series by the end (because I know many people have), I will be continuing to read these books.

Blurb via Goodreads:

In Ethan Wate’s hometown there lies the darkest of secrets . . .
There is a girl. Slowly, she pulled the hood from her head . . . Green eyes, black hair. Lena Duchannes.
There is a curse. On the Sixteenth Moon, the Sixteenth Year, the Book will take what it’s been promised. And no one can stop it.
In the end, there is a grave.

Now I love a witch book as much as the next guy. No, scrap that. I like a witch book WAY MORE than the next guy. IN fact, I would say that it is probably my most favourite kind of fantasy story. If it has a magical being in it, I’m for sure going to read. I’m going to read it and most probably enjoy it more than any contemporary ever.

So there I am, scrolling through the Goodreads reviews for ‘Beautiful Creatures’ and there is just so much hate! I really didn’t understand it. yes, the story was slow at times and I rolled my eyes more than once during the book, but ultimately I enjoyed it. There is no denying that a book you enjoyed is a good book, even if it’s only a good book for you. So, please, if you don’t have anything nice to say, say nothing at all. OR I WILL COME FOR YOU! No, just kidding, you’re entitled to your opinion. I’m not one of those book fascists. But I will defend Lena and Ethan’s love to the death!!

So, anyway the good points about this book:

  • Loveable characters
  • Great link to history
  • I really enjoyed the whole idea of little inescapable Gatlin.
  • Loath-able characters (got to have them in there, don’t you)
  • Plot twists galore.
  • It made me cry.

And, regrettably, the bad points:

  • Minimal character development
  • World-building CONFUSION!
  • Slightly cheesy
  • It made me cry.

With great joy I give ‘Beautiful Creatures’ by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl 4.5/5 stars. Can’t wait to read the rest of the series!

Leave a Reply

