Review of ‘We Were Liars’ by E. Lockhart

wewereliars

You know when you read a book that is so good it’s hard to discuss directly afterwards. Yes, well ‘We Were Liars’ by E. Lockhart is exactly that kind of book. However, I am trying my hardest to be dedicated to this blog and that means pushing through the books hangover I am currently feeling. ‘We Were Liars’ is centered around the the Sinclair family. The Sinclairs are rich, perfect and beautiful. During the summer, the family congregates on the private island of Beechwood off the coast of Massachusetts, USA.  This is a story of power and perfection. It is also a story of secrets and betrayal. But, most importantly, it is a story of family. Cadence Sinclair Eastman, the narrator of the story, suffered an accident two years before the book’s setting; the circumstances of which remain a mystery to her.

The writing style in this book is beautiful to say the least. At times it was like I was reading floating and mellifluous poetry and at other times, incredibly detailed and well written prose. Lockhart’s vivid description of both emotional and physical things in the story is almost breathtaking. The character development in this books is great. I felt as if each character had their own individual characteristics and personalities, which really brought the book to life. For this reason, I find it impossible to pick out a favourite character, but if I had to it would be one of the four ‘Liars’. Maybe. Maybe not… Argh!

I hear a lot of people saying that they don’t like this book, because of how over-hyped it was. I went into this book with very high expectations and I must say that it lived up to them every bit. It was hyped a lot, but I think that there was a good reason for it. My favourite part of the book is the ending. How could it not be? The ending is so masterfully woven together that it shouldn’t be possible for a human to have written it. You get little hint throughout the book, which should make the ending very predictable. However, I was so involved in the family feud of the Sinclairs, that my brain just didn’t piece things together. The ending not only moved me and shocked me, but it also, oddly, chilled me down to the bone. For some reason, I love it when a book does that to me and it is definitely a reason why I love this book.

This is one of my new favourite books, so of course it gets a shining 5/5 stars from me!

Buy This Book (DO IT!!):

https://www.waterstones.com/ebook/we-were-liars/e-lockhart/9781471403996

Upcoming Reviews:

  • Drop (Katie Everson)
  • The Sky is Everywhere (Jandy Nelson)
  • The Sin Eater’s Daughter (Melinda Salisbury)

Upcoming Tags:

  • The Taylor Swift Book Tag
  • The Nintendo Book Tag
Leave a Reply

